Imran Khan defeats Shahbaz Sharif to become Pakistan’s new Prime Minister

Tags: , , , , ,

Cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan today defeated Shahbaz Sharif in a one-sided contest to become Pakistans next prime minister after the grand opposition alliance fell apart over the PML-N chiefs nomination for the top post. The election in the 15th National Assembly became just a formality after the Pakistan Peoples Party led by Bilawal Bhutto Zardari with 54 seats abstained from voting. Khan, 65, the chairman of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), secured 176 votes while his only rival and the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz chief Sharif got 96 votes. Khan will take the oath tomorrow. A total of 172 votes in the 342-member lower house of Parliament are needed to form a government.